NCIS Series 04 Overview (2006-2007)


The fourth season of the police procedural drama NCIS was originally broadcast between 19 September 2006 and 22 May 2007.


Special Agent Gibbs left NCIS at the end of season three after a terrorist attack had been successful because his superiors did not heed his warnings in time.

The team is now led by DiNozzo for a short time until Gibbs’ eventual return.

New characters introduced in this season are Michelle Lee, who was briefly on DiNozzo’s team and was transferred to the legal department upon Gibbs’ return, and (already in the final episodes of season 3) Gibbs’ former boss and mentor Mike Franks, both as recurring characters.

Also, albeit later in the season, Army CID Lieutenant Colonel Hollis Mann is introduced as another love interest for Gibbs.


  • Main:
    • Mark Harmon as Leroy Jethro Gibbs, NCIS Senior Special Agent (SSA) assigned to Washington’s Navy Yard.
    • Michael Weatherly as Anthony DiNozzo, NCIS Special Agent, second in command.
    • Cote de Pablo as Ziva David, Mossad officer and Liaison To NCIS.
    • Pauley Perrette as Abigail Sciuto, Forensic Specialist attached to NCIS.
    • Sean Murray as Timothy McGee, NCIS Special Agent.
    • Lauren Holly as Jenny Shepard, NCIS Director.
    • David McCallum as Dr. Donald Mallard, Chief Medical Examiner for NCIS.
  • Recurring:
    • Joe Spano as Tobias Fornell, FBI Senior Special Agent.
    • Jessica Steen as Paula Cassidy, NCIS Senior Special Agent.
    • Brian Dietzen as Jimmy Palmer, Assistant Medical Examiner for NCIS.
    • Troian Bellisario as Sarah McGee (Tim McGee’s sister).
    • Mary Mouser as Kelly Gibbs, Gibbs’ deceased daughter.
    • Stephanie Mello as Cynthia Summer, NCIS Secretary to Director Shepard.
    • Muse Watson as Mike Franks, retired Senior Special Agent for NCIS (Gibbs’ old boss).
    • Don Franklin as Ron Sacks, FBI Special Agent.
    • Scottie Thompson as Jeanne Benoit, Tony’s girlfriend while undercover.
    • Armand Assante as Rene Benoit, NCIS target.
    • Susanna Thompson as Hollis Mann, Gibbs’ girlfriend and Army CID Agent.
    • Liza Lapira as Michelle Lee, NCIS Special Agent.
    • David Dayan Fisher as Trent Kort, CIA Agent.
    • Enzo Cilenti as Mamoun Sharif, NCIS target.
    • Payton Spencer as Emily Fornell (Tobias Fornell’s daughter).


  • In December 2006, Bill Keveney from USA Today announced that the CBS investigative drama NCIS topped the Nielsen viewership list for the first time with 17.4 million.
  • CBS was the number one network in viewers and young adults (ages 18 to 49) for the week of 11-17 December.
  • TV Guide reported on 05 May 2007 that creator and showrunner Donald Bellisario would step down and leave the series due to a disagreement with series star Mark Harmon.
  • Because of Bellisario’s “chaotic management style”, Harmon threatened to leave NCIS.
  • Co-executive producer Chas. Floyd Johnson and head writer Shane Brennan replaced Bellisario as showrunner.

NCIS Series 04

You can find a full index and overview of the NCIS Franchise here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Creator(s): Donald P. Bellasario and Don McGill.
  • Release Date: 19 September 2006 to 22 May 2007.
  • Running Time: 39-44 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.