NCIS Series 12 Overview (2014-2015)


The twelfth season of the police procedural drama NCIS was originally broadcast between 23 September 2014 and 12 May 2015.


The main antagonist of the season is Sergei Mishnev, played by Alex Veadov. This character first appears in the premiere episode “Twenty Klicks”.

In episode four, “Choke Hold”, one of Sergei’s associates is sent to the United States to kill a Russian scientist who refused to work with him. Anton Pavlenko (previously seen in “Twenty Klicks”), portrayed by Lev Gorn, a Russian counselor, reappears in this episode.

Veadov returns as Sergei in “Check” where he “gets personal” with Gibbs by killing Gibbs’ ex-wife Diane in the same way that Caitlin Todd was killed, stalking Rebecca, another of Gibbs’ ex-wives, and staging murders mimicking the deaths of Mike Franks and Jenny Shepard. Sergei returns again in “Cabin Fever”, where he is killed by Tobias Fornell, who was also married to Diane at one point and who was dealing with intense grief and depression following Diane’s murder.

It is revealed that Sergei and Ari Haswari are half brothers from Ari’s mother, whereas Ari and Ziva David were half brother and sister from their father, Eli David.


  • Main:
    • Mark Harmon as Leroy Jethro Gibbs, NCIS Senior Special Agent (SSA) assigned to Washington’s Navy Yard.
    • Michael Weatherly as Anthony DiNozzo, NCIS Senior field Agent, second in command.
    • Pauley Perrette as Abigail Sciuto, Forensic Specialist for NCIS.
    • Sean Murray as Timothy McGee, NCIS Junior Special Agent.
    • Brian Dietzen as Jimmy Palmer, Assistant Medical Examiner for NCIS.
    • Emily Wickersham as Eleanor “Ellie” Bishop, NCIS Junior Field Agent.
    • Rocky Carroll as Leon Vance, NCIS Director.
    • David McCallum as Dr. Donald Mallard, Chief Medical Examiner for NCIS.
  • Recurring:
    • Alan Dale as Thomas Morrow, Homeland Security Section Chief and former NCIS Director.
    • Joe Spano as Tobias Fornell, FBI Senior Special Agent.
    • Susanna Thompson as Hollis Mann, Department of Defence Special Agent, Gibbs’ former girlfriend and former Army CID Agent.
    • Robert Wagner as Anthony DiNozzo, Sr. (Tony’s father).
    • Michelle Pierce as Breena Palmer, Jimmy Palmer’s wife.
    • Tamer Hassan as Agah Bayar, NCIS target.
    • Diane Neal as Abigail Borin, CGIS Special Agent in Charge.
    • Kiara Muhammad as Kayla Vance, Leon Vance’s daughter.
    • Melinda McGraw as Diane Fornell, IRS Special Agent and Gibbs’ and Fornell’s ex-wife.
    • Matt L. Jones as Ned Dorneget, NCIS Special Agent, Cyber Division.
    • Leslie Hope as Sarah Porter, Secretary of the Navy.
    • Margo Harshman as Delilah Fielding, Department of Defence Computer Specialist (McGee’s girlfriend).
    • Juliette Angelo as Emily Fornell, Tobias and Diane Fornell’s daughter.
    • Jamie Bamber as Jake Malloy, NSA Attorney and Bishop’s husband.
    • Tony Gonzalez as Tony Francis, NCIS Special Agent.
    • Marisol Nichols as Zoe Keates, ATF Special Agent and DiNozzo’s girlfriend.
    • Mimi Rogers as Joanna Teague, CIA Officer and Ned Dorneget’s mother.
    • Alex Veadov as Sergei Mishnev, NCIS target and main antagonist of season 12.
  • Guest Appearances:
    • Sasha Alexander as Caitlin Todd, deceased NCIS Special Agent killed by Ari Haswari.
    • Jessica Steen as Paula Cassidy, deceased Senior Special Agent for NCIS.
    • Tim Kelleher as Chris Pacci, deceased NCIS Special Agent.
    • Lauren Holly as Jenny Shepard, deceased NCIS Director.
    • Muse Watson as Mike Franks, deceased retired Senior Special Agent for NCIS (Gibbs’ old boss).
    • Jeri Ryan as Rebecca Chase (Gibbs Ex. Wife #2).
    • James Sayess as Armed Lookout (episode 21).
    • Millie Bobby Brown as Rachel Barnes (episode 6).


  • This is the first season in which NCIS: Los Angeles did not air after NCIS.
  • This season, NCIS: New Orleans aired after NCIS.
  • The entire season eleven cast renewed their contracts and returned for the new season.

NCIS Series 12

You can find a full index and overview of the NCIS Franchise here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Creator(s): Donald P. Bellasario and Don McGill.
  • Release Date: 23 September 2014 to 12 May 2015.
  • Running Time: 39-44 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.