The Pacific TV Series Overview (2010)


The Pacific is a 2010 American war drama miniseries produced by HBO, Playtone, and DreamWorks that premiered in the United States on 14 March 2010.


The series is a companion piece to the 2001 miniseries Band of Brothers and focuses on the United States Marine Corps’s actions in the Pacific Theater of Operations within the wider Pacific War. Whereas Band of Brothers followed the men of Easy Company of the 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment through the European Theatre, The Pacific centres on the experiences of three Marines (Robert Leckie, Eugene Sledge, and John Basilone) who were in different regiments (1st, 5th, and 7th, respectively) of the 1st Marine Division.

The Pacific was spearheaded by Bruce C. McKenna (co-executive producer), one of the main writers on Band of Brothers. Hugh Ambrose, the son of Band of Brothers author Stephen Ambrose, served as a project consultant.

The Pacific miniseries features the 1st Marine Division’s battles in the Pacific, such as Guadalcanal, Cape Gloucester, Peleliu, and Okinawa, as well as Basilone’s involvement in the Battle of Iwo Jima. It is based primarily on the memoirs of two US Marines: With the Old Breed: At Peleliu and Okinawa by Eugene Sledge and Helmet for My Pillow by Robert Leckie. It also draws on Sledge’s memoir China Marine and Red Blood, Black Sand, the memoir of Chuck Tatum, a Marine who fought alongside Basilone at Iwo Jima.


  • James Badge Dale as Pfc. Robert Leckie (1920–2001).
  • Joseph Mazzello as Cpl. Eugene “Sledgehammer” Sledge (1923–2001).
  • Jon Seda as Gy/Sgt. John Basilone (1916–1945).
  • Ashton Holmes as Cpl. Sidney “Sid” Phillips (1924–2015).
  • William Sadler as Lt. Col. Lewis “Chesty” Puller (1898–1971).
  • Jon Bernthal as Sgt. Manuel “Manny” Rodriguez (−1942).
  • Jacob Pitts as Pfc. Bill “Hoosier” Smith (1922–1985).
  • Keith Nobbs as Pfc. Bud “Runner” Conley (1921–1997).
  • Josh Helman as Cpl. Lew “Chuckler” Juergens (1918–1982).
  • Henry Nixon as 1stLt Hugh Corrigan (1920–2005).
  • Rami Malek as Cpl. Merriell “Snafu” Shelton (1922–1993).
  • Brendan Fletcher as Pfc. Bill Leyden (1926–2008).
  • Martin McCann as Sgt. R.V Burgin (1922–2019).
  • Dylan Young as Pfc. Jay De L’Eau (1923–1997).
  • Andrew Lees as Pfc. Robert Oswalt (1923–1944).
  • Scott Gibson as Capt. Andrew A. “Ack-Ack” Haldane (1917–1944)[7].
  • Gary Sweet as Gy/Sgt. Elmo “Gunny” Haney (1898–1979).
  • Joshua Bitton as Sgt. J. P. Morgan (1919–1980).
  • Toby Leonard Moore as 2nd Lt. Stone.
  • Nate Corddry as Pfc. “Loudmouth” (−1944).
  • Cariba Heine as Pfc. Phyllis.
  • Nikolai Nikolaeff as Pfc. Echelon.
  • Matt Craven as Capt. Grant.
  • Damon Herriman as Pfc. Merrin.
  • Dwight Braswell as Pfc. Clifford “Steve” Evanson (1926–1945).
  • Ben Esler as Pfc. Charles “Chuck” Tatum (1926–2014).
  • Joshua Close as Major Edward Sledge (1920–1985).
  • Noel Fisher as Pvt. Hamm (−1945).
  • Chris Foy as Pvt. Tony “Kathy” Peck.
  • Leon Ford as 1st Lt. Edward “Hillbilly” Jones (1917–1944).
  • Freddie Joe Farnsworth as 1st Lt. “Stumpy” Stanley.
  • Sandy Winton as Capt. Jameson.
  • Tom Budge as Pfc. Ronnie “The Kid” Gibson.
  • Richard Cawthorne as Pvt. Perle.
  • Anna Torv as Virginia Grey (1917–2004).
  • Claire van der Boom as Ms. Stella.
  • Ashley Zukerman as 2nd Lt. Robert “Mac” MacKenzie (−2003).
  • Caroline Dhavernas as Vera Keller.
  • Annie Parisse as Sgt. Lena Mae Riggi Basilone (1913–1999).
  • Catherine McClements as Catherine Leckie.
  • Isabel Lucas as Ms. Gwen.
  • Adelaide Clemens as Register Girl.
  • Penny McNamee as Pvt. Hope.
  • Mauricio Merino, Jr. as Handyboy.
  • Brandon Keener as Pvt. Charles Dunworthy.

The Pacific Series

Production & Filming Details

  • Director(s): Tim Van Patten, David Nutter, Jeremy Podeswa, Graham Yost, Carl Franklin, and Tony To.
  • Producer(s): Steven Spielberg, Tom Hanks, Gary Goetzman, Tony To, Graham Yost, Eugene Kelly, Bruce C. McKenna, Cherylanne Martin, Todd London, Steven Shareshian, Tim Van Paten, George Pelecanos, and Robert Schenkkan.
  • Writer(s): Bruce C. McKenna, Robert Schenkkan, Graham Yost, George Pelecanos, Larry Andries, and Michelle Ashford.
  • Music: Hans Zimmer (Theme), Goeff Zanelli (Composer), and Blake Neely (Composer).
  • Editor(s):
  • Production: DreamWorks Television and Playtone.
  • Distributor(s): Warner Bros. Television.
  • Original Network: HBO.
  • Release Date: 14 March 2010 to 16 May 2010.
  • Running Time: 540 minutes (total running time).
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.