Homeland Series 08 Overview (2020)


The eighth and final season of the American spy thriller television drama series Homeland premiered on 09 February 2020, and concluded on 26 April 2020, on Showtime, consisting of 12 episodes.

The series is loosely based on the Israeli television series Hatufim (English: Prisoners of War) created by Gideon Raff and is developed for American television by Howard Gordon and Alex Gansa.


Saul Berenson, the National Security Advisor for newly inaugurated President Ralph Warner, is assigned to negotiate peace with the Taliban in Afghanistan.

Carrie Mathison is still struggling to recover from her brutal treatment as a prisoner in Russia, but Saul wants to take her to Afghanistan, feeling her knowledge and experience there are essential.


  • Main:
    • Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison, a former CIA case officer and station chief.
    • Maury Sterling as Max Piotrowski, a surveillance expert and Carrie’s trusted associate.
    • Costa Ronin as Yevgeny Gromov, a Russian GRU officer.
    • Nimrat Kaur as Tasneem Qureishi, the head of the premier Pakistani intelligence agency.
    • Mandy Patinkin as Saul Berenson, Carrie’s former boss and mentor, and the National Security Advisor.
    • Numan Acar as Haissam Haqqani, the head of the Taliban.
    • Linus Roache as David Wellington, the White House Chief of Staff.
  • Recurring:
    • Mohammad Bakri as Abdul Qadir G’ulom, the Vice President and, later, President of Afghanistan.
    • Tim Guinee as Scott Ryan, chief of special operations at the CIA.
    • Andrea Deck as Jenna Bragg, a CIA field agent in Kabul.
    • Cliff Chamberlain as Mike Dunne, the CIA station chief in Kabul.
    • Charles Brice as Staff Sergeant John Durkin, a US Army soldier serving in Afghanistan.
    • Sam Chance as Specialist Drew Soto, serving in Afghanistan.
    • Octavio Rodriguez as Specialist Arturo Gonzales, a US Army soldier serving in Afghanistan.
    • Victor Almanzar as Staff Sergeant Justin Wenzel, a US Army soldier serving in Afghanistan.
    • Jason Tottenham as Alan Yager, a CIA field agent in Kabul.
    • Emilio Cuesta as Specialist Charlie Stoudt, a US Army soldier serving in Afghanistan.
    • Art Malik as Bunran Latif, a retired Pakistani general.
    • Sam Trammell as Benjamin Hayes, the vice president and later President of the United States.
    • Elham Ehsas as Jalal Haqqani, Haissam’s rebellious son.
    • Seear Kohi as Balach, a Taliban loyal to Haissam.
    • Eugene Lee as General Mears.
    • Terry Serpico as General Owens, a US Army general serving in Afghanistan.
    • Tracy Shayne as Janet Gaeto, US Ambassador to Afghanistan.
    • Mustafa Haidari as Firooz.
    • Karen Pittman as Vanessa Kroll, an FBI agent.
    • Hugh Dancy as John Zabel, a foreign policy advisor to the President of the United States.
  • Guest:
    • Mohammad Amiri as Arman, a friend of Carrie’s in Kabul.
    • Kevork Malikyan as Agha Jan.
    • Anna Kathryn Holbrook as Robin.
    • David Hunt as Jim Turrow.
    • Jonjo O’Neill as Doug.
    • Anna Francolini as Dr. Foley.
    • Sitara Attaie as Samira Noori.
    • Beau Bridges as Ralph Warner, the President of the United States.
    • Christopher Maleki as President Daoud, the President of Afghanistan.
    • Michael Rabe as Chief Mechanic Worley.
    • Sharif Dorani as Barlas.
    • Austin Basis as Lonnie.
    • Kate Burton as Doris Warner, Ralph Warner’s wife.
    • Zineb Triki as Judge Haziq Qadir.
    • Adnan Jaffar as General Aziz.
    • Elya Baskin as Viktor Makarov, Russian Ambassador to the United States.
    • Samrat Chakrabarti as Ambassador Rashad, Pakistan Ambassador to the United States.
    • Chris Bauer as Kevin Dance.
    • Ben Savage as young Saul Berenson.
    • Robin McLeavy as Charlotte Benson.
    • Merab Ninidze as Mirov.
    • Tatyana Mukha as Anna Pomerantseva.
    • Julie Engelbrecht as young Anna Pomerantseva.
    • Robert Clotworthy as Judge.
    • Amy Hargreaves as Maggie Mathison, Carrie’s sister.
    • Jacqueline Antaramian as Dorit, Saul’s sister.
    • Jon Lindstrom as Claude Geroux.
  • Kamasi Washington makes a special appearance in the series finale.


  • In April 2018, Claire Danes confirmed that season 8 would be the last, and Showtime officially confirmed the final season in August.
  • In January 2019, it was confirmed that the final season will take place in Afghanistan, with filming beginning in February in Morocco.

Homeland Series

You can find a full index and overview of Homeland here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Original Network: Showtime.
  • Release Date: 09 February 2020 to 26 April 2020.
  • Running Time: 46-48 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.