Tour of Duty (1989): S02E10 -Nightmare


Tour of Duty is an American military drama television series based on events in the Vietnam War, broadcast on CBS.

The series ran for three seasons, from 24 September 1987 to 28 April 1990, for a total of 58 one-hour episodes. The show was created by Steve Duncan and L. Travis Clark and produced by Zev Braun.

The show follows an American infantry platoon on a tour of duty during the Vietnam War. It was the first television series to regularly show Americans in combat in South Vietnam and was one of several similarly themed series to be produced in the wake of the acclaimed Oliver Stone film Platoon (1986).


In a VC village, Purcell shoots a VC and Bravo Company rescues a Quaker woman who is providing care for children in the village. She takes a little girl back to Saigon to find her mother. There, Purcell interrupts two Vietnamese trying to rape the Quaker woman. In his struggle with one of the men, the Vietnamese man is killed with his own gun, but the Quaker woman will not testify that Purcell was acting in self defence. The little girl’s mother witnessed the fight, however, and Anderson, with the help of the widow of his friend who was killed in action, persuades the…

Tour of Duty Series

You can find a full index and overview of Tour of Duty here.

You can find a full index of Tour of Duty Series 02 here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 28 March 1989.
  • Running Time: 47 minutes (per episode).
  • Rating: TV-14/15.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.