Soundtrack to War (2005)


Soundtrack to War is a 90-minute documentary by Australian war artist George Gittoes.


Filmed throughout 2003-2004, Gittoes bypassed the US military’s media lockdown on the war in Iraq to capture an authentic account of the human experience of the war. Gittoes interviewed American soldiers deployed in Iraq to create an account of the role of music in the contemporary battlefield. The film was followed by a sequel, Rampage.

Songs featured in the movie include Slayer’s “Angel of Death” and Drowning Pool’s “Bodies”, as well as freestyle rap and gospel choirs. Seventeen of the early-filmed scenes from the documentary were used in Michael Moore’s Fahrenheit 9/11.

The film is mentioned in the 2009 book Sound Targets: American Soldiers and Music in the Iraq War by Jonathan Pieslak.

Production & Filming Details

  • Director(s):
    • George Gittoes.
  • Producer(s):
    • Gabrielle Dalton … producer.
    • Meredith Wilson … senior producer.
  • Writer(s):
  • Music:
  • Cinematography:
    • George Gittoes.
  • Editor(s):
    • Nick Deacon.
  • Production:
    • Gittoes & Dalton Productions Pty. Ltd.
  • Distributor(s):
    • ABC Video (2005) (Australia) (DVD)
  • Release Date: 2005 (Australia).
  • Rating: Unknown.
  • Running Time: 94 minutes.
  • Country: Australia.
  • Language: English.

Video Clip(s)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.