Das Boot TV Series Overview


Das Boot is a 2018 German television series produced for the TV channel Sky and a sequel to Das Boot (1981).

Like the original film, the series is based on Lothar-Günther Buchheim’s 1973 book Das Boot, but with additions from Buchheim’s 1995 sequel Die Festung.

As the original film’s plot ends in December 1941, the series’ setting takes place nine months later, in 1942.

The storyline is split into two narratives, one based on land around the French Resistance, the other set around German U-boat U-612 and its crew.


The TV series is based on Lothar-Gunther Buchheim’s two novels Das Boot and Festung.


The series, set in 1942, focus on the narratives of the upcoming Resistance in La Rochelle and the claustrophobic life aboard U-612.

Das Boot Series

You can find a full index and overview of the Das Boot franchise here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Creators:
    • Johannes W. Betz.
    • Tony Saint.
  • Director(s):
    • Andreas Prochaska.
  • Producer(s):
    • Moritz Polter.
    • Oliver Vogel.
    • Jan S. Kaiser.
    • Marcus Ammon.
    • Frank Jastfelder.
    • Jenna Santoianni.
  • Production:
    • Bavaria Film.
  • Distribution:
    • Sky.
  • Release Date:
    • Series 01: 23 November 2018 to 14 December 2018.
    • Series 02: 24 April 2020 to 15 May 2020.
    • Series 03: 09 April 2022.
    • Series 04: ?2023.
  • Running time: 60 minutes (per episode).
  • Country: Germany.
  • Language: German, English, and French.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.