Rise of the Clans Documentary Series Overview (2018)


Documentary series following an epic struggle for power in medieval Scotland, told from the point of view of the feuding clans.


Neil Oliver travels back in time to reveal the story of Scotland’s ancient clans. A blood-soaked saga of battles and feuds, loyalty and betrayal, love and death set against the country’s wild mountains and glens.


  • Darren Mitchell … Clansman.
  • Hannah Young … Queen Joan Beaufort.
  • Samuel Gilbert-Davies … Lord Darnley.
  • David R. Montgomery … Earl Of Morton.
  • Andy John Noble … Murdac.
  • Jamie Richard-Stewart … James Stewart Earl of Moray.
  • Emma Snellgrove … Mary, Queen of Scots.
  • John Webster … King Robert III.
  • Kieran Baker … King James I.
  • Gordon Miller … Walter Stewart.


  • N/A

Rise of the Clans Series

Production & Filming Details

  • Presenter(s): Neil Oliver.
  • Director(s): Craig Collinson.
  • Producer(s): Rachel Bell and Richard Downes.
  • Writer(s):
  • Music:
  • Cinematography: Carlo D’Alessandro.
  • Editor(s):
  • Production:
  • Distributor(s): BBC Scotland.
  • Release Date: 03 December 2018 to 17 December 2018.
  • Running time: 60 minutes (per episode).
  • Country: UK.
  • Language: English.

YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.