Ben Hur (2010): Part 02


Ben Hur is a TV miniseries that first aired in 2010.

It is based on Lew Wallace’s 1880 novel, Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ.


Arrius presents Judah to the duplicitous emperor Tiberias who pits him against a Thracian wrestler,Judah winning. Arrius dies, leaving Judah his estates and Judah returns to Jerusalem, buying his old house, which has become derelict, from governor Pilate. He locates Simonides and Esther, whom David is trying to force to marry him and Judah kills David after he has attacked him from behind, Initially Esther does not believe how Judah attained his good fortune and assumes he was protected by Messala all along but Simonides realises the truth and convinces her. Esther takes…


  • Joseph Morgan as Judah Ben-Hur/Sextus Arrius, a wealthy Jerusalem merchant.
  • Stephen Campbell Moore as Octavius Messala, a Roman officer.
  • Emily VanCamp as Esther, betrothed to Ben Hur.
  • Kristin Kreuk as Tirzah, Ben Hur’s sister.
  • Simón Andreu as Simonides, Esther’s father.
  • Hugh Bonneville as Pontius Pilate, Governor of Judaea.
  • James Faulkner as Marcellus Agrippa, Messala’s father.
  • Alex Kingston as Ruth, Ben Hur’s mother.
  • Art Malik as Sheik Ilderim, a wealthy Bedouin.
  • Marc Warren as David Ben Levi, Ben Hur’s overseer.
  • Lucía Jiménez as Athene, a Greek courtesan.
  • Miguel Ángel Muñoz as Antegua, a galley slave.
  • Ray Winstone as Quintus Arrius, a Roman admiral.
  • Ben Cross as Emperor Tiberius.
  • Kris Holden-Ried as Gaius Antonius, a Roman officer.
  • Michael Nardone as Hortator (galley slave master).
  • Julian Casey as Jesus Christ.
  • Eugene Simon as Young Ben Hur.
  • Toby Marlow as Young Messala.
  • Daniella Ereny as Young Tirzah.


  • Gore Vidal was mentioned to be an uncredited screenwriter for Ben Hur, according to the documentary Best of Enemies.

Other Versions

Production & Filming Details

  • Director(s): Steve Shill.
  • Producer(s): Zakaria Alaoui, Dirk Beinhold, Manuel Corbi, Roger Corbi, Frank Konigsberg, Betty Palik, Michael Prupas, Michael Prupas, Steve Shill, Simon Vaughan, David Wyler, Miara Martell, and Evan Tussman.
  • Writer(s): Alan Sharp and Lew Wallace.
  • Music: Rob Lane.
  • Cinematography: Ousama Rawi.
  • Editor(s): Annie Ilkow and Simon Webb.
  • Production: Akkord Film Produktion GmbH, Drimtim Entertainment, FishCorb Films (in association with), Muse Entertainment Enterprises, and Zak Productions.
  • Distributor(s): Sony Pictures Home Entertainment.
  • Release Date: 11 April 2010 (Canada).
  • Running time: 180 minutes.
  • Country: UK, US, Canada, and Spain.
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.