Vikings Series 02 Overview


The second season of the historical drama television series Vikings premiered on 27 February 2014 on History in Canada, and concluded on 01 May 2014, consisting of ten episodes.

The series broadly follows the exploits of the legendary Viking chieftain Ragnar Lothbrok and his crew, and later those of his sons. The first season of the series begins at the start of the Viking Age, marked by the Lindisfarne raid in 793.


The second season follows Ragnar’s struggles with rival Vikings and his rise from Earl to King. The Vikings raid further into England, and for the first time are offered land for settlement.


  • Main:
    • Travis Fimmel as Earl Ragnar Lothbrok of Kattegat, who is interested in discovering the lands and customs of England.
    • Katheryn Winnick as Lagertha, a shield-maiden and Ragnar’s first wife; after leaving Ragnar she becomes Earl Ingstad of Hedeby.
    • Clive Standen as Rollo, a warrior and Ragnar’s brother.
    • Jessalyn Gilsig as Siggy, Earl Haraldson’s late wife, and Rollo’s lover.
    • Gustaf Skarsgård as Floki, a gifted shipbuilder, and friend of Ragnar.
    • George Blagden as Athelstan, a monk from Northumbria torn between Viking and Christian beliefs, and adviser to both Earl Ragnar and King Ecbert.
    • Alyssa Sutherland as Princess Aslaug, Brynhildr’s daughter and Ragnar’s second wife.
    • Donal Logue as King Horik of Denmark, interested in joining Ragnar’s raid to England.
    • Linus Roache as King Ecbert of Wessex, the cunning king of Wessex.
    • Alexander Ludwig as Bjorn Ironside, son of Ragnar and Lagertha, in love with the slave Þórunn.
    • Nathan O’Toole plays a younger Bjorn Ironside (“Brother’s War”).
  • Recurring:
    • Thorbjørn Harr as Jarl Borg of Götaland.
    • Jefferson Hall as Torstein, one of Ragnar’s warriors.
    • Maude Hirst as Helga, Floki’s partner.
    • Morgan C. Jones as The Law Giver, the lawspeaker of Kattegat.
    • Carrie Crowley as Elisef, wife of Erik.
    • John Kavanagh as The Seer, a seiðmann.
    • Cormac Melia as Ubbe, eldest son of Ragnar and Aslaug.
    • Cathal O’Hallin as Hvitserk, second son of Ragnar and Aslaug.
    • Edvin Endre as Erlendur, son of King Horik.
    • Morten Sasse Suurballe as Jarl Sigvard, Lagertha’s second husband.
    • Moe Dunford as Prince Aethelwulf of Wessex, son of King Ecbert.
    • Duncan Lacroix as Ealdorman Werferth, serving King Ecbert.
    • Philip O’Sullivan as Bishop Edmund.
    • Georgia Hirst as Torvi, wife of Jarl Borg.
    • Richard Ashton as Thorvard, a Viking warrior loyal to King Horik.
    • Gaia Weiss as Þórunn (/θorunn/), a slave and love of Björn.
    • Steve Wall as Einar, a relative of Jarl Sigvard.
    • Ivan Kaye as King Aelle of Northumbria.
    • Jennie Jacques as Princess Judith of Northumbria, daughter of King Aelle, wife to Aethelwulf.
    • Amy Bailey as Princess Kwenthrith of Mercia.
  • Guests:
    • Tadhg Murphy as Arne, one of Ragnar’s warriors.
    • Anna Aström as Hild, a servant in Kattegat.
    • Jay Duffy as Ari, King Horik’s second son.
    • Alan Devine as Ealdorman Eadric, serving King Ecbert.
    • Edmund Kente as Bishop Swithern of Winchester.
    • Jens Christian Bushov Lund as Olrik.
    • Cathy White as Queen Ealhswith of Northumbria, King Aelle’s wife.
    • Elizabeth Moynihan as Queen Gunnhild of Denmark, King Horik’s wife.
    • Carl Shaaban as Jesus, appearing in visions.



An Irish-Canadian co-production presented by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Vikings was developed and produced by Octagon Films and Take 5 Productions. Morgan O’Sullivan, Sheila Hockin, Sherry Marsh, Alan Gasmer, James Flynn, John Weber, and Michael Hirst are credited as executive producers. This season was produced by Steve Wakefield and Keith Thompson. Bill Goddard and Séamus McInerney act as co-producers.

The production team for this season includes casting directors Frank and Nuala Moiselle, costume designer Joan Bergin, visual effects supervisors Julian Parry and Dominic Remane, stunt action designers Franklin Henson and Richard Ryan, composer Trevor Morris, production designers Tom Conroy for the first to sixth episodes, and Mark Geraghty for the seventh to tenth episodes, editors Aaron Marshall for the first, third, fifth, seventh and ninth episodes, and Don Cassidy for the second, fourth, sixth, eighth and tenth episodes, and cinematographer PJ Dillon.


The musical score for the second season was composed by Trevor Morris in collaboration with Einar Selvik, Steve Tavaglione and Brian Kilgore. The opening sequence is again accompanied by the song “If I Had a Heart” by Fever Ray.

The soundtrack album was released on 13 June 2014 by Sony Classical Records.

Additional non-original music by Norwegian music group Wardruna is featured in the episodes “Eye For an Eye”, “Blood Eagle”, “Boneless” and “The Lord’s Prayer”. The featured tracks – which were not included in the soundtrack release – are “EhwaR”, “Algir — Tognatale”, “Dagr”, “Bjarkan”, “Løyndomsriss”, “Heimta Thurs”, “IngwaR”, “Solringen”, “Helvegen”, “Sowelu” and “Gibu”.

Vikings Series

You can find a full index and overview of Vikings here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Director(s): Ciaran Donnelly, Ken Girotti, Jeff Woolnough, and Kari Skogland.
  • Writer(s): Michael Hirst.
  • Release Date: 27 February 2014 to 01 May 2014.
  • Running time: 45 minutes (per episode).
  • Rating: 18.
  • Country: US
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.