Operation Petticoat (1977): S01E01 – Yeoman Hunkle, Yeoman Hunkle, Part 01


Operation Petticoat is an American sitcom that was based on the 1959 film by the same name.

It was broadcast on ABC for two seasons, from 17 September 1977 until 06 July 1979.

Also known as Life in the Pink and the Petticoat Affair.


The sub must pick up a load of TNT from an island abandoned by the Japanese.

Part 02 here.


  • The original plan was for Operation Petticoat to run as a one-hour series.
    • They shot a 2-hour pilot movie, and several one-hour scripts were written.
    • Then ABC had second thoughts and decided it would work better in a half-hour format.
    • The first script (after the pilot) was shot as written and shown in two parts, allowing time for the other scripts to be rewritten.

Operation Petticoat Series

You can find a full index and overview of Operation Petticoat here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 17 September 1977.
  • Running Time: 30 minutes.
  • Rating: U.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.