Occupation TV Series Overview (2009)


Occupation is a three-part drama serial broadcast by BBC One in June 2009. It was written by Peter Bowker and produced by Kudos for BBC Northern Ireland.

Three ex-servicemen return to Basra, each for a different reason.


The serial follows the fortunes of three British Army soldiers from the 2003 invasion of Basra to 2007. Each is inspired to return to Basra for different reasons: one returns for love; one for monetary gain; and one for his belief in the mission to rebuild the country.


  • James Nesbitt as Mike Swift.
  • Stephen Graham as Danny Ferguson.
  • Warren Brown as Lee Hibbs.
  • Nonso Anozie as Erik Lester.
  • Yigal Naor as Dr Sadiq Alasadi.
  • Lubna Azabal as Dr Aliya Nabil.
  • Omar Berdouni as Ahmed.
  • Monica Dolan as Nicky Swift.
  • Andrew-Paul Roberts as Richard Swift.
  • Lewis Alsamari as Yunis.
  • Fenar Mohammed-Ali as Yassin.
  • Greg Kelly as Spike.
  • John Prentice as John Prentice the 3rd of Lisburn Town.


  • It took four years to bring the serial to screen.
  • Filming took place in Morocco and Northern Ireland.
  • The journalist in the first episode, who asks if little girl Maysa’s injury was caused by British troops, was played by the director, Nick Murphy.

Occupation Series

Production & Filming Details

  • Director(s): Nick Murphy.
  • Producer(s):
    • Karim Abouobayd … line producer: Morocco (3 episodes, 2009).
    • Laurie Borg … producer (3 episodes, 2009).
    • Lisa McAtackney … line producer (3 episodes, 2009).
    • Derek Wax … executive producer (3 episodes, 2009).
  • Writer(s): Peter Bowker.
  • Music: Daniel Pemberton.
  • Cinematography: David Odd.
  • Editor(s): Victoria Boydell.
  • Production:
    • ARTE.
    • BBC America.
    • BBC Northern Ireland.
    • British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
    • Kudos Film and Television.
  • Distributor(s):
    • British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) (2009) (UK) (TV) (BBC1).
    • ARTE (2011) (Germany) (TV).
    • BBC America (2010) (USA) (TV).
    • Duna Televízió (2013) (Hungary) (TV).
    • Rough Trade Distribution (2015) (Germany) (DVD).
    • WOWOW (2010) (Japan) (TV) (2 parts).
    • Yleisradio (YLE) (2010) (Finland) (TV).
  • Release Date: 16 June 2009 to 18 June 2009.
  • Running Time: 180 minutes (total running time).
  • Rating: Unknown.
  • Country: UK.
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.