China Beach (1988): S01E04 – Waiting for Beckett


China Beach is an American dramatic television series set at an evacuation hospital during the Vietnam War.

The title refers to My Khe beach in the city of Đà Nẵng, Vietnam, nicknamed “China Beach” in English by American and Australian soldiers during the Vietnam War. The ABC TV drama aired for four seasons, from 1988 to 1991.


A stressed Beckett tries to get some sleep. Boonie attempts to put him at ease, teaching him to surf and bringing him into town to meet Vietnamese women, but his methods do not help. A deserter pursued by a determined CID officer tells Cherry he knows her brother and traps her into aiding his escape by securing a passport. Cherry attempts to get a passport from a deceased soldier via Beckett and purchase one on the black market, but fails to do so. Beckett finds understanding in Kim, the Vietnamese barmaid at the Jet Set, who shows him her family’s burial ground just outside the base fencing. Previously warned by K.C. and McMurphy that the deserter is tricking her, Cherry traps him in a lie about her brother as the investigator closes in on him. The deserter attempts to escape the investigator, but is killed as he runs through a live minefield on the edge of the base.

China Beach Series

You can find a full index and overview of China Beach here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 18 May 1988.
  • Running Time: 46-47 minutes.
  • Rating: Unknown.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.