Michael Wood’s Story of England (2010): S01E06 – Victoria to Present Day


Michael Wood’s Story of England is a six-part BBC documentary series written and presented by Michael Wood and airing from 22 September 2010.

The series tells the story of one place, the Leicestershire village of Kibworth, throughout the whole of English history.


In this final episode, helped by today’s villagers Michael uncovers the secret history of a Victorian village more colourful than even Dickens could have imagined. Recreating their penny concerts of the 1880s, visiting World War I battlefields with the school and recalling the Home Guard, local land girls and the bombing of the village in 1940, the series finally moves into the brave new world of ‘homes fit for heroes’ and the villagers come together to leave a reminder of their world for future generations.

Michael Wood’s Story of Britain Series

You can find a full index and overview of Michael Wood’s Story of Britain here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 27 October 2010.
  • Rating: Unknown.
  • Running Time: 60 minutes.
  • Country: UK.
  • Language: English.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.