Fairly Secret Army TV Series Overview


Fairly Secret Army is a British sitcom which ran to thirteen episodes over two series between 1984 and 1986.

Though not a direct spin-off from The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin, the lead character, Major Harry Truscott, was very similar to Geoffrey Palmer’s character of Jimmy in that series, and the scripts were written by Reginald Perrin’s creator and writer David Nobbs.


Harry Kitchener Wellington Truscott (ex Queen’s Own West Mercian Lowlanders) is an inept and slightly barmy ex-army man intent on training a group of highly unlikely people into a secret paramilitary organisation. This idea first emerged in an episode of Perrin when Jimmy confided the plan to Reggie (who rubbished it) and was based on persistent and subsequently verified rumours in the 1970’s press that far-right generals were secretly planning a coup to “rescue” Britain from trade union militancy. The character’s name was changed because Fairly Secret Army was broadcast on Channel 4, and the television rights to The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin and its characters were held by the BBC.


  • Geoffrey Palmer as Major Harry Truscott.
  • Michael Robbins as Sgt. Major Throttle.
  • Liz Fraser as Doris Entwisle.
  • Jeremy Child as Beamish.
  • Diane Fletcher as Nancy.
  • Richard Ridings as Ron Boat.
  • Ray Winstone as Stubby (Series 1).
  • John Nettleton as Smith (Series 2).


  • The first series was script edited by John Cleese, whose training films company was responsible for the series.
  • The series did not have a laughter track.
  • Nobbs only started work on the show when he turned down an offer to write a spin-off sitcom for Manuel of Fawlty Towers.

Fairly Secret Army Series

Production & Filming Details

  • Director(s): Roy Ward Baker and Robert Young.
  • Producer(s): Peter Robinson, John Cleese, Antony Jay, and Michael Peacock.
  • Writer(s): David Nobbs.
  • Music: Michael Nyman.
  • Editor(s): Paul Martin Smith.
  • Production: Video Arts.
  • Distributor(s): Channel 4.
  • Release Date: 22 October 1984 to 13 October 1986.
  • Running Time: 30 minutes (per episode).
  • Rating: PG.
  • Country: UK.
  • Language: English.

Video Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.