American Experience (2009): S21E05 – We Shall Remain 01: After the Mayflower


American Experience, originally titled ‘The American Experience’, is an American television programme and a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) documentary series created by Peter McGhee.


In 1621, Wampanoag leader Massasoit negotiates to provide help to the ailing Pilgrims from the Mayflower, who are on the brink of disaster, because he thinks this alliance will ensure protection for his tribe from the threatening Narragansett tribe. For the next fifty years, events prove that Massasoit was wrong, as continuing European immigration, deaths from widespread new diseases, and overuse of natural resources push the interaction between the Wampanoag and the Pilgrims to war led by Metacomet, Massasoit’s son.

American Experience Series

You can find a full index and overview of the American Experience Series here.

You can find a full index and overview of We Shall Remain here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 13 April 2009.
  • Running time: 60 to 120 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.