American Experience Overview (1988 to 2019)


American Experience, originally titled ‘The American Experience’, is an American television programme and a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) documentary series created by Peter McGhee.


The series airs documentaries about historic events or historical figures that had an impact upon the United States government or its citizens.

The show is produced primarily by WGBH-TV, a television station and PBS affiliate located in Boston, Massachusetts.

WGBH-TV creates non-commercial educational programmes and distributes them on public television stations throughout the United States.

However, other PBS affiliate stations, such as WNET in New York City, have co-produced episodes for the television series.

Since the programme’s debut on 04 October 1988, American Experience has broadcast 342 episodes and has been a recipient of over 265 broadcast and web awards.

The programme’s thirty-first season premiered on 15 January 2019.

American Experience Series

  • Series 10:

Production & Filming Details

  • Creators: Peter McGhee, Henry Hampton, and Stephen Fitzmeyer.
  • Production: PBS, WGBH-TV and WNET.
  • Release Date: 04 October 1988 (US).
  • Running time: 60 to 120 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.