American Experience (2009): S21E07 – We Shall Remain 03: Trail of Tears


American Experience, originally titled ‘The American Experience’, is an American television programme and a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) documentary series created by Peter McGhee.


In years of trading with European Americans, many Cherokee members also adopted aspects of European-American religion, government, and education to establish their standing with the United States government and retain recognition of their rights to their homeland as a sovereign nation. But President Andrew Jackson gained passage of the Indian Removal Act in 1830, and proceeded to remove especially the Southeastern Five Civilised Tribes. On 26 May 1838, US troops forcibly began to remove the Cherokee and their enslaved African Americans from their land to Indian Territory (now Oklahoma) west of the Mississippi River. More than 4,000 people died of disease and starvation along the Trail of Tears.

American Experience Series

You can find a full index and overview of the American Experience Series here.

You can find a full index and overview of We Shall Remain here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 27 April 2009.
  • Running time: 60 to 120 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.