American Experience (2009): S21E09 – We Shall Remain 05: Wounded Knee


American Experience, originally titled ‘The American Experience’, is an American television programme and a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) documentary series created by Peter McGhee.


At a time of increasing Indian activism, the American Indian Movement’s last stand at Wounded Knee in 1973 brought attention to the desperate conditions of Indian reservation life. Around 200 American Indians engaged in a 71-day standoff at the Pine Ridge Reservation with the US government, demanding redress for grievances, some of which were of 100 years’ standing.

American Experience Series

You can find a full index and overview of the American Experience Series here.

You can find a full index and overview of We Shall Remain here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Release Date: 11 May 2009.
  • Running time: 60 to 120 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

YouTube Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.