The Mandalorian Series 01 Overview


The Mandalorian, also known as Star Wars: The Mandalorian, is an American space Western web television series created by Jon Favreau and released on Disney+.

It is the first live action series in the Star Wars franchise.


Set five years after the events of Return of the Jedi and 25 years prior to the events of The Force Awakens, it follows the title character, a Mandalorian bounty hunter named Din Djarin, and his exploits beyond the reaches of the New Republic.


  • Starring:
    • Pedro Pascal as Din Djarin/The Mandalorian:
      • A lone gunfighter and bounty hunter who is sometimes referred to as “Mando” (a generic term used to refer to all Mandalorians, a clan of skilled warriors).
      • He is a “foundling” who was rescued at a young age by Mandalorians during the Clone Wars.
      • Pascal has described his character as Clint Eastwood-esque with advanced combat skills and of “questionable moral character”.
    • “The Child” (performed by various puppeteers):
      • A member of the same unnamed species as the powerful Jedi master Yoda with similar Force abilities.
      • The Child is a toddler at age 50.
      • A bounty is offered for his return by “The Client”.
      • He is found and protected by the Mandalorian while being targeted by other bounty hunters.
  • Co-starring (The following actors received co-starring billing in the main end credits of the episodes they appeared in):
    • Carl Weathers as Greef Karga, an ex-magistrate and leader of a bounty hunter guild who hires the Mandalorian to track a valuable asset.
    • Werner Herzog as “The Client”, an unnamed man with Stormtrooper bodyguards who arranges for the Mandalorian to track a valuable asset.
    • Omid Abtahi as Dr. Pershing, a scientist working for “the Client”.
    • Nick Nolte as the voice of Kuiil, an Ugnaught moisture farmer who bought his freedom after being enslaved by the Empire. Misty Rosas provided the motion capture performance of Kuiil.
    • Taika Waititi as the voice of IG-11, a bounty-hunting droid who processes conversations in a precise and literal manner. After attempting to kill “the Child” as its bounty, and being stopped by Djarin, IG-11 is re-programmed by Kuiil to protect the toddler.
    • Gina Carano as Cara Dune, a former rebel shock trooper-turned-mercenary from the now destroyed planet of Alderaan who fought in the Galactic Civil War for the Rebel Alliance/New Republic.
    • Amy Sedaris as Peli Motto, a cantankerous docking bay attendant and ship mechanic on Tatooine.
    • Jake Cannavale as Toro Calican, a fledgling bounty hunter looking to join the bounty hunters’ guild by capturing Fennec Shand. He hires the Mandalorian to help.
    • Ming-Na Wen as Fennec Shand, an assassin who crosses paths with the Mandalorian.
    • Mark Boone Junior as Ranzar “Ran” Malk, an aging mercenary and leader of a motley crew looking to free a prisoner on a New Republic ship. Malk is a former associate of the Mandalorian from before he joined the guild.
    • Bill Burr as Mayfeld, a former Imperial sharpshooter and the point man on Malk’s crew.
    • Natalia Tena as Xi’an, a Twi’lek member of Malk’s crew and knife master, who claims to be Djarin’s former love interest.
    • Clancy Brown as Burg, a large Devaronian member of Malk’s crew who serves as the muscle of the team.
    • Richard Ayoade as the voice of Q9-0, also known as “Zero”, a droid member of Malk’s crew.
    • Ismael Cruz Córdova as Qin, a Twi’lek and Xi’an’s brother. He has a combative past with the Mandalorian.
    • Giancarlo Esposito as Moff Gideon, a former officer of the Imperial Security Bureau, the Galactic Empire’s secret police, whose life changed after the Rebel Alliance destroyed the second Death Star.
    • Emily Swallow as The Armourer, a Mandalorian woman who forges armour and equipment from Beskar steel, and enforces tradition among the surviving Mandalorians.
  • Guests (Season 01):
    • Julia Jones as Omera, a widowed farmer on Sorgan who provides lodging for the Mandalorian during his stay on the planet.
    • Isla Farris as Winta, Omera’s daughter who bonds with the Child during his stay on the planet.
    • Asif Ali as Caben, a farmer on Sorgan who, with his friend Stoke, asks the Mandalorian to protect his village against the attacks of Klatooinian raiders.
    • Eugene Cordero as Stoke, a farmer on Sorgan.
    • Rio Hackford as Riot Mar, a bounty hunter who engages the Mandalorian in a dogfight.
    • Matt Lanter as Davan, a New Republic soldier. Lanter had previously voiced Anakin Skywalker in Star Wars: The Clone Wars and Star Wars Rebels.
    • Dave Filoni as Trapper Wolf, a New Republic X-wing pilot.
    • Rick Famuyiwa as Jib Dodger, a New Republic X-wing pilot.
    • Deborah Chow as Sash Ketter, a New Republic X-wing pilot.

Horatio Sanz played a Mythrol bounty, and Brian Posehn played a speeder pilot in “Chapter 1: The Mandalorian”. Series creator Jon Favreau voiced Paz Vizla, an infantry Mandalorian featured in “Chapter 3: The Sin”, physically played by stunt double Tait Fletcher. Adam Pally and Jason Sudeikis played two bike scout troopers in “Chapter 8: Redemption”. Mark Hamill who plays Luke Skywalker in the original and sequel trilogy films has a voice cameo as the bartender droid EV-9D9 in “Chapter 5: The Gunslinger”. Additionally, members of the 501st Legion fan organisation were used as stormtrooper extras.


  • After the first season’s conclusion, an eight-episode behind the scenes series was released starting May 2020, titled Disney Gallery: The Mandalorian.
  • In November 2019, Walt Disney Studios chief creative officer Alan Horn stated that, if the series is successful, a film featuring the character could be developed.

The Mandalorian Series

You can find a full index and overview of The Mandalorian here.

Production & Filming Details

  • Creator(s): Jon Favreau.
  • Director(s): Dave Filoni, Rick Famuyiwa, Deborah Chow, Bryce Dallas Howard, and Taika Waititi.
  • Producer(s): Jon Favreau, Dave Filoni, Kathleen Kennedy, and Colin Wilson.
  • Writer(s): Jon Favreau, Dave Filoni, Rick Famuyiwa, and Christopher Yost.
  • Music: Ludwig Goransson.
  • Cinematography: Greig Fraser and Barry Idione.
  • Editor(s): Jeff Seibenick, Andrew S. Eisen, and Dana E. Glauberman.
  • Production: Lucasfilm, Fairview Entertainment, and Golem Creations.
  • Distributor(s): Disney Media Distribution.
  • Release Date: 12 November 2019 to 27 December 2019.
  • Running Time: 31-46 minutes.
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.