Spaceballs: The Animated Series (2008)


Spaceballs: The Animated Series, also known as Spaceballs: The Series, is an adult animated television series that premiered in 2008 on G4 and Canada’s Super Channel, and is loosely based on the parody science fiction film Spaceballs (1978).

Similarly to how the original film parodied the original Star Wars films and the Star Trek universe, each episode of the series parodies a different film or other aspect of popular culture, such as the Star Wars prequel trilogy, The Lord of the Rings, or the Grand Theft Auto video games.


An animated parody of popular science fiction movies and TV shows.


  • Mel Brooks as President Skroob/Yogurt.
  • Daphne Zuniga as Princess Vespa.
  • Joan Rivers as Dot Matrix.
  • Tino Insana as Barf (replacing the late John Candy).
  • Rino Romano as Lone Starr[6] (replacing Bill Pullman).
  • Dee Bradley Baker as Dark Helmet (replacing Rick Moranis due to his retirement).
  • Rudy De Luca as Vinnie / Fort Lox Checkpoint official.
  • Julianne Grossman as Charlene / Marlene / Darlene / Yente / The Unsinkable Old Fat Lady / Commanderette Zircon / Princess Harley Van Patten / Pannakin’s mother / Robohooker / Jasmine / Telephone Operator.
  • Dave Wittenberg.
  • Jim Meskimen.
  • Jim Jackman.
  • Dom DeLuise as Pizza the Hutt.


  • Production began in early 2005 under the supervision of Brooksfilms, MGM and Berliner Film Company.
  • Mel Brooks not only directed the writing, but also voiced two characters, President Skroob and Yogurt, both of whom he played in the film.
  • Daphne Zuniga and Joan Rivers also reprise their roles from the film, while Bill Pullman and Rick Moranis do not.
  • Those roles are filled by Rino Romano and Dee Bradley Baker, respectively.
  • Tino Insana replaces John Candy, who died in 1994, as “Barf,” and Rudy De Luca also supplied his voice talents.

Spaceballs: The Animated Series

Star Wars Series

Production & Filming Details

  • Creator(s): Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan.
  • Director(s): Jay Surridge, Blake Leibel, David Dulac, Chad Hammes, Jason Raines, Rainer Soehnlein, and Michael Montaine.
  • Producer(s): Mel Brooks, Rainer Soehnlein, and Chad Hammes.
  • Writer(s): Mel Brooks, Thomas Meehan, David Lewman, Joe Liss, Ian Dallas, Boomie Aglietti, Adam Kosloff, Julie Chambers, David Chambers, and Joe Meehan.
  • Music: Mel Brooks.
  • Cinematography:
  • Editor(s):
  • Production: Berliner Film Comapnie, Brooksfilms, Fantasy Prone Interactive, G4 Media, and MGM Television.
  • Distributor(s): MGM Worldwide Television Distribution.
  • Release Date: 21 November 2008 to 01 March 2009.
  • Running Time: 30 minutes (per episode, approximate).
  • Country: US.
  • Language: English.

Video Link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.